The Association for Psychoanalytic Medicine (APM) was founded in June 1942, incorporated as a non-profit organization on February 13, 1945, and is a component society of both the American Psychoanalytic Association and the International Psychoanalytical Association. (see our history by Dr. George Daniels -- former APM presidents)

The APM currently has over 280 members in active practice as psychoanalysts and psychoanalysts in training. Most of our active members are graduates of the Columbia University Center for Psychoanalytic Training and Research and a small but significant percentage of our membership are graduates of other institutes. All members of our society have doctoral degrees either in medicine or in psychology.

mailing address:
The APM, c/o Dr. Lila Kalinich
333 Central Park West, New York, NY 10025
FAX: 212.866.4817

The mission of The Association for Psychoanalytic Medicine (APM) is to foster discussion, to educate, and to promote the acquisition of new knowledge among its members and those interested in the clinical practice of psychoanalysis, in psychoanalytic theories of mind, and in related interdisciplinary fields. To this end, the APM sponsors and organizes monthly scientific meetings, open to those practicing and interested in psychoanalysis, as well as symposia, study groups, master classes, and more.  These activities of the Association are geared to enhance the level of the clinical  and theoretical knowledge of the members of the APM and at the same time to reflect the training and practice standards required for membership in the organization.
2010 - 2011
ex-officio voting members

Jules Kerman, M.D., Ph.D..

Henry Schwartz, M.D.

Edith Cooper, Ph.D.

Lawrence Jacobsberg, M.D., Ph.D.

Juliette Meyer, Ph.D., 2010-2013
Harvey Chertoff, M.D. 2009-2012
Barry Stern, Ph.D., 2008-2011

Jonah Schein, M.D, 2007-2009, past president
Deena Harris, M.D. appointed advisor
Lila J. Kalinich, M.D. appointed advisor
Donald Meyers, M.D. appointed advisor
George Sagi, M.D. appointed advisor
Stuart Taylor, M.D. appointed advisor


Jules Kerman, M.D., 2009-2011,
Henry Schwartz, M.D., 2009-2011alternate
Freud by Dali

list of APM Committees